Now

This page is all about what I'm doing right now.

Family

I'm raising 2 boys with my wife in West Michigan. We're enjoying the warm weather and getting outside.

I'm working on leading my family spiritually through prayer and devotions. Setting a good example for our boys is important to my wife and I.

Money

My wife and I are working on paying down our student loans, saving for a house (hopefully when the market drops), and saving for retirement.

I wouldn't mind retiring earlier than 65, but I still plan to work even if we have the funds by then. I imagine I'll always be working in some capacity. Hopefully by then, I can be very choosy of the work I do.

As time goes on, I want to increase freedom of time and location so I can take trips and see family.

Career

I successfully transitioned into a software development career last year (Apr 2020). I am continuing to learn new technologies and work flows as a contractor for Meijer.

My daily tech stack includes SQL and .NET Core for Meijer.

Travel

Colorado

We traveled to visit my family in Colorado this May. Flying with 2 kids was an adventure! Thankfully they behaved themselves 😅

I don't usually get to see my family more than twice/year, but thankfully we keep in touch through email, phone calls, and texts.

Guy's Trip 2021

I also took a trip with my wife's dad, brother, and grandpa to visit Antietam battleground, Gettysburg battleground, and Harper's Ferry. There's a lot of history there. It was interesting to learn about the battles and other events that took place there.

I am always so thankful for my family and circumstances after thinking about what those men went through in the Civil War.

It was also a great trip to spend time with the guys of the family. I look forward to the next trip with them.

Hobbies

I have hobbies across multiple areas.

I've been refurbishing hand tools and making new handles for them for several years. I also like using the tools I fix up. I've rehandled several hatchets and axes, cleaned up hand planes, and sharpened the blades on them as well.

I'm fascinated by the late 19th century/early 20th century logging industry and how they cleared forests with man powered tools: axes, crosscut saws, hammers, chisels, etc.

I enjoy coding in my free time as well. This website is built using a static site generator called Eleventy. It uses JavaScript to pull files together into a website directory that can be hosted online.

Writing and bullet journaling are habits that I'm cultivating. I've noticed that sharing and teaching are ways to be perceived as an expert despite experience levels. I want to give my career a leg up while helping others by educating and sharing what I learn.

Business

I want to build a business someday. But while I figure out what that could be, I'm going to keep sharing what I do. This will serve to:

  1. Help me process what I'm thinking about
  2. Open the conversation to talk with other people who read about it

Micropreneurship is intriguing to me, as well as creating and selling digital products to teach others. I'll continue to think about and explore this topic.

And Beyond...

That's it for now, I'll do my best to keep this up-to-date!


Last updated: June 2, 2021
This page is inspired by Derek Sivers